Rudy’s Freakin’ Vegan Bean Dip

This post is dedicated to the Pistol in Bed Thirteen who has taught me so much about life, love, and the joys of veganism. Your friendship is invaluable to me. Thank you for being you.

All you need for Freakin' Vegan Bean Dip

Years and years ago when I was first diagnosed as gluten intolerant, I remember asking my friend Rudy for advice on what to do. Both he and I were ignorant to the diet of a gluten-free person, but he lovingly suggested I consider becoming a vegan. At the time, I was still obsessed with cheese and so the prospect was never a realistic one for me. Fast forward three years and I hardly ever eat the stuff. Honestly, my diet is largely vegan. I can’t subscribe to the term, however, because I LOVE sushi. I have made so many sacrifices for this allergy, I simply will not sacrifice sushi.

One of the first things he suggested to me is his bean dip. This bean dip is chock full of fiber and protein that it is known to produce, as Rudy calls it, “a fourteen-pound poo.” For those of you who struggle in the area, this should be music to your ears. I have never struggled with constipation, but this recipe does serve up a soul cleansing release, so to speak.

I also love this dish because you can do so much with it. You can serve it over tortilla chips, as a dip for company or as a spread for sandwiches or burritos. It’s very versatile and it keeps in the fridge for about a week. It can also be frozen. (Keep in mind that freezing tofu gives it a more meaty consistency.) It’s a great thing to have in the fridge for those days when you come home starving and ready to eat your arm. In short, Rudy’s Freakin’ Vegan Bean dip is a beautiful thing, ya’ll.

Please note: You will need a fairly large pan for this. I would recommend a sauce pan like this one. I have been using my stir fry pan. You want something that is fairly deep so that when you are stirring it doesn’t hop out of the sides.  Also, the dip is HEAVY. Last time I made it, it weighed 3lbs. That was after I’d eaten some. (Yeah, I really did weigh it.)

Lookita tofu!

Ingredients

1 tablespoon of olive oil
1 pound of firm tofu (drained)
1 jar of salsa
1 can of black beans (rinsed and drained)
1 can of vegetarian refried beans
1 can of green peppers (optional. I don’t use it because I don’t like spicy food)
1/2 pack of mushrooms (also optional)
1 clove of garlic
1 small onion

Start by sauteing the garlic, onion, and mushrooms in the olive oil over medium high heat. When the onion is translucent and the mushrooms are brown, add the black beans. Then add the refried beans and fold the beans, garlic, mushrooms, and black beans together. Add the tofu next and use your spoon to break it up in the pan (if  you use anything other than Trader Joe’s firm tofu). Add the jar of salsa to help combine the ingredients. Last, add the green peppers and stir. Keep bean dip over heat for another 2-3 minutes to make sure the entire dip is evenly heated. You’ll know it’s heated when it starts to make volcano like eruptions.

Freakin' Vegan Bean Dip, ya'll

***Please note, all of the ingredients I used are from Trader Joe’s because I am a spoiled fat kid who lives down the street from the store. I went to several grocery stores today and Trader Joe’s just happened to have the best prices on the things I needed for the recipe. Mori-Nu tofu is good for this recipe. I prefer the Trader Joe’s tofu because it maintains its structural integrity when cooked. (See the sexy cubes? Yeah!)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mom says:

    This dip is the best, the first time my daughter made it for me, I ate it everyday for a week ! Yummo!

Leave a Reply

