I’m a Fat Kid

I am a fat kid. I’ve reclaimed it. I really like it.

I have reconceived the notion of the “Fat Kid.” As one who has struggled with weight all my life, I one day decided to view it as a term of endearment. Before I reconceived the phrase, the term was meant to denote  someone who is slovenly, lazy, over-indulgent, lacking self-control, and just gross. To me this definition is completely reprehensible and I refuse to let it go on.

For me, being a Fat Kid means you are a happy-go-lucky person who is not afraid to express themselves either through culinary indulgence, creations, or other such acts of love and kindness. In short, being a fat kid is a celebration of sustenance. There ain’t no shame in my game.

I can imagine this is not an easy concept to try to wrap one’s brain around. We live in a thin obsessed culture where a vast majority of people believe fat people are just out of control. This is simply untrue. Don’t get me wrong, there are exceptions to this rule, but for the vast majority of people above a size 12 – it isn’t.  Joy Nash’s Fat Rant blog does an excellent job of explaining this.

Bottom Line: Everyone has a bit of a Fat Kid in them. For example, really thin people who can sit down and eat EVERYTHING in sight then go out to eat with friends with no problem are Fat Kids. Justifying eating more french fries just because you have ketchup left on your plate makes you a Fat Kid. Sitting down and eating a whole pint of Ben & Jerry’s because it’s Tuesday and then hiding the evidence at the bottom of the trash can and/or taking the garbage out entirely – Fat Kid. Knowing the EXACT combination of spices to add to a home-made sauce to make it look, taste and smell like is was made by your Sicilian grandmother WITHOUT the use of measuring spoons – Fat Kid.

Isa Chandra Moskowitz is a fat kid. Vegan with a Vengeance has recipes in it that require you to mix shit by hand. I sleep with Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World under my mountain of pillows. I want Vegan Cookies Take Over Your Cookie Jar so bad it hurts my soul. My friend Rudy is a Fat Kid. He’s also vegan and he fully embraces the new meaning. I’d even go so far as to say that vegans are the epitome of fat kids. They have an intricate, intimate knowledge of food that is enviable.

Fat Kids are awesome. You are surrounded by some amazing Fat Kids who go unacknowledged every day. It’s not about how much you weigh. Fat Kids are everywhere and the term transcends barriers of race, class, and gender. Fat Kids are universal. If you love food, you are a Fat Kid. No longer is the term something to be ashamed of. If you care to, try explaining the new meaning of Fat Kid to a friend and then actively use it. You’ll find that it’s contagious.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Hakima says:

    Hi Guys!
    I think your blog is great! And you are right everyone has some fat kid in them at some point. Also i think there is nothing wrong with being over a size 12, right now I am a size 12 (probably a little bit bigger than that during pregnancy). I will be looking forward to more posts.
    Kima

  2. Fiqah says:

    Awesome.

  3. Noel says:

    Holy crap, apparently i’m a fatkid!!! Thanks for the enlightenment Nina – (yes, it’s me Poppa Bear!!)
    I look forward to your posts and will sheepishly update you with my sporadic flailings in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

